Progress report – end of Week 6

The garden bed on an overcast day

The garden bed on an overcast day

I woke up fairly early today. My first thought: darn! (or similar epithet), no Saturday morning sleep-in for me! Second thought: let’s make the most of this, get down into the garden and do some work, before things really start heating up!

And so I did – I spent  a little over two hours out in the yard, not exactly having fun, but certainly ending up with a good feeling of achievement by the end of it. Oh, and I was kidding myself – it was bloody hot out there, even at 9am, and despite the overcast.

Beetroot transplants in The Annexe

Beetroot transplants in The Annexe

What did I achieve?

  • I thinned out the beetroots, transplanted 10 plants into The Annexe and left 10 plants (2 of them transplanted from their original spots) in the main bed.
  • I ‘hilled up’ the soil around various plants in both beds, including the corn, chillies, tomatoes and beans. The beetroots, carrots and eschallots didn’t need it.

It will be particularly fascinating to see how the transplanted beetroot plants go, as I don’t think I was as careful in moving them as I could have been. Next time I’ll be sure to thoroughly wet the roots so that the soil sticks together better.

There’s not that much new to report since last week.

Cucumbers in main bed

Cucumber plants in main bed

The cucumbers continue on their prolific way, with another 3 good-sized specimens harvested during the week. We now have too many cucumbers, basically! Must learn how to stagger my plantings the next time around…

Of the tomatoes, only one of the pair in the main bed shows any signs of fruit as yet, while its neighbour continues to turn into a feral mutant. What the hell is in that soil just there, I wonder? Something that makes it want to grow lots and lots of foliage, and very little fruit, dammit. Over in The Annexe garden, the 2 plants there are as yet fruit-free, and the one on the right seems to be dying slowly, its lower foliage browning off and curling up and altogether rather sad-looking.

A crowd of carrots

A crowd of carrots - note the big one at top right

The sweet corn remains green and healthy, although I’m glad I hilled up around the stems of them all, as their roots were starting to show.

The carrots are looking good, although I accidentally pulled out a couple of the smaller plants while thinning out the neighbouring beetroots and redistributing soil. Given how many plants there are in each of the two rows, it doesn’t really matter. As the accompanying photo shows, the plant at the highest end of the right-hand row has decided to grow much, much faster than all the others. It’s like the pace-setter in a horse race.

The beans are still kind of sad, with 3 of them growing just okay, and the other 3 lagging way behind. I have no idea what’s wrong with them, especially given how well my neighbour Helena’s beans are performing.

Bottom end of the garden

Bottom end of the garden showing beans, with beetroot and carrots in the background

The eschallots remain small and somewhat insignificant, and prone to disappearance under drifts of mulch, moved there by cats burying their turds elsewhere in the garden. One or two of The Annexe plants are gone, but the four in the main garden between the sweet corn are still there. Obviously this plant takes a while to grow.

What happened to Week 5?

Somewhere over the past couple of weeks, it occurred to me that if I added things up properly, I’d actually lost a week in my progress reports. Oops. So that’s why this is the report for Week 6 rather than Week 5, which basically got absorbed into the last few weeks.

Cucumbers on the vine

Cucumbers on the vine, including a mutant in the centre

Tomatoes showing size difference

Tomatoes in the main bed showing the size difference between the 2 plants

Chillies in the main bed

Chillies in the main bed

One Response to “Progress report – end of Week 6”

  1. Progress report – end of week 8 « Scampus, Gardener Says:

    […] the 10 plants I replanted in The Annexe a couple of weeks back, 8 are still growing, and 5 or 6 of them are growing well. Of the others, it may be that not enough […]

Leave a Reply

